SIC Code Information

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is a system for classifying industries by a four-digit code. If the search terms are less than 4 digits, SEED looks for SIC codes that start with these numbers, so a search for “4” returns companies with SICs between 4000 and 4999.

SIC codes correspond to these twelve divisions:

SIC Codes Division
0100-0999 Agriculture, Forestry and Fishing
1000-1499 Mining
1500-1799 Construction
1800-1999 not used
2000-3999 Manufacturing
4000-4999 Transportation, Communications, Electric, Gas and Sanitary service
5000-5199 Wholesale Trade
5200-5999 Retail Trade
6000-6799 Finance, Insurance and Real Estate
7000-8999 Services
9100-9729 Public Administration
9900-9999 Nonclassifiable