Board Member News

Barbara Becker (Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP)

The American Lawyer has named Gibson Dunn’s Chair and Managing Partner Barbara Becker as the Managing Partner of the Year. This inaugural award was presented on November 15, 2023. Barbara is the seventh Chair and Managing Partner in the firm’s 133-year history.  Prior to becoming the firm’s Chair and Managing Partner, Barbara served as Co-Chair of Gibson Dunn’s Mergers and Acquisitions Practice Group for over a decade, and also created and led the firm wide Diversity Committee. Barbara was also recognized in M&A in the inaugural edition of Who’s Who Legal’s 2024 Thought Leaders.

Amy Borrus (Council of Institutional Investors)

Executive Director Amy Borrus has decided to retire next spring 2024, after more than 17 years at the Council of Institutional Investors, including more than three years as executive director.

Richard Brand (Cadwalader Wickersham & Taft LLP)

Richard Brand (Cadwalader Wickersham & Taft LLP), has been named to the “2024 Lawdragon 500 Leading Dealmakers in America,” which honors the U.S.’s top lawyers who “chart the fates of corporations and thousands of employees in a heartbeat, working on a global scale with a staggering level of complexity where success comes down to the details of the deal.”

Raymond DiCamillo (Richards Layton & Finger, P.A.)

Raymond DiCamillo (Richards Layton & Finger, P.A.) was named a Lawdragon 500 Leading Litigator. Lawdragon, a legal media company providing online news and features, annually selects 500 Leading Lawyers in guides identifying the nation’s foremost lawyers in specific practice areas.

Eduardo Gallardo (Paul Hastings LLP)

Paul Hastings’ Global Co-Chair of Mergers and Acquisitions Eduardo Gallardo has been recognized as a 2023 “Dealmaker of the Year” by The American Lawyer. Eduardo is recognized for leading the Paul Hastings team that advised Aerojet Rocketdyne’s independent director slate, led by CEO Eileen Drake, in its successful defense against a Board takeover attempt by the company’s executive chairman.

Scott Luftglass (Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP)                                                                   

Scott Luftglass, currently Co-Chair of Fried Frank’s Securities and Shareholder Litigation Practice, will serve as the firm’s Vice Chair effective March 1, 2024.

Robert Mundheim (Shearman & Sterling, LLP)

Robert Mundheim (Shearman & Sterling LLP) received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from The University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law at the commencement ceremony in May, 2023.

Elena Norman (Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP)

Elena Norman was elected to Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP’s Management Committee effective on January 1, 2023.

Francesca Odell (Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP)

The Legal 500 Latin America recognized Cleary Gottlieb partner Francesca Odell as a “Leading Individual.” The 2024 edition of The Legal 500 Latin America recognized Cleary in the region as a Tier 1 firm for Latin America in Banking and Finance, Capital Markets, and Corporate and M&A. Francesca was also named in Latinvex’s eleventh annual “Latin America’s Top 100 Female Lawyer’s.”

Melissa Sawyer (Sullivan & Cromwell LLP)

  • Recognized as a Law360 MVP in Mergers & Acquisitions for 2023.
  • Co-authored chapter “USA: Law & Practice and Trends & Developments” in Chambers Corporate Governance Guide 2023 (July 2023).
  • Winner of The American Lawyer’s “Dealmaker of the Year” for 2022.
  • Elected to The American Law Institute (July 2022).
  • Recognized as one of the top “Women in Dealmaking” by The Deal for 2022.

Laura Turano (Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison) 

Crain’s New York Business profiled corporate partner Laura Turano as one of its 2023 “40 Under 40” honorees. The list honors talented business leaders under age 40 who are making New York City a better place to live and work. Crain’s highlighted Laura’s achievements representing public companies in transformational mergers and acquisitions, and creating opportunities for women associates and associates of color to enter the M&A space.

Anthony Vernace (Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP)

Anthony Vernace (Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP) was named a 2023 “Dealmaker of the Year” by The American Lawyer.

John White (Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP)

On November 14, 2023, Cravath partner John W. White participated in Financial Executives International’s Corporate Financial Reporting Insights Conference, which was held virtually from November 13-14, 2023.

Scott Winter ( Innisfree M&A Incorporated)

Scott Winter was named Co-Chair of Innisfree M&A Incorporated this past May.