NYU Law alumni celebrate with Reunion 2022

From April 29 through May 1, NYU Law alumni gathered for a joyful and spirited weekend of seeing old friends and making new connections at the first in-person Reunion since 2019. For two years, the annual event had been fully virtual because of the COVID-19 pandemic. This year, graduates from 10 classes ranging from 1972 to 2017 convened at class dinners, at the Tax Alumni Reception, and at a Sunday morning brunch at Rockefeller Center’s Rainbow Room, where Dean Trevor Morrison delivered a State of the Law School Address.

Watch a slideshow of photographs from Reunion 2022:

The Law School’s incoming dean, Troy McKenzie ’00, Cecelia Goetz Professor of Law, mingled with his fellow alumni at the class dinners. At the Tax Alumni Reception, graduates had the opportunity to meet the new faculty director of the Graduate Tax Program, Professor of Tax Law Brant Hellwig LLM ’00.

Attendees could participate in a variety of virtual classes and events. Professor Franco Ferrari moderated a discussion on public policy and international arbitration that featured Alessandra Franchi LLM ’92, officer at the Directorate for Competition, European Commission; Fabienne Schaller LLM ’92, judge at the International Department of Court of Appeal in Paris; and Luxembourg dispute resolution attorney Fabio Trevisan MCJ ’92. Several classes were offered for CLE credit and presented in partnership with the Law Alumni Association: sessions on emerging trends at the US Supreme Court, ethics at the Court, the future of human rights, and the struggle for a national climate change policy were taught by faculty members McKenzie; Stephen Gillers ’68, Elihu Root Professor of Law; Professor of Clinical Law César Rodríguez-Garavito; Professor of Clinical Law Margaret Satterthwaite ’99; and Katrina Wyman, Sarah Herring Sorin Professor of Law.

Dean Morrison recognized seven alumni for their professional achievements:

Alumni Achievement Award

Valerie E. Radwaner ’87, deputy chair of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison

Legal Teaching Award

Erin Delaney ’07, professor of law at Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law

Harold Krent ’82, professor and former dean of Chicago-Kent College of Law

Andy Williams ’02, director of the Lawyering Program at NYU Law

Public Service Award

Hakeem Jeffries ’97, congressman from New York

Recent Graduate Award

Kirti Datla ’12, director of strategic legal advocacy at Earthjustice          

Mitchell Brown ’17, counsel, voting rights at the Southern Coalition for Social Justice

Posted May 12, 2022