Fox honored by American Antitrust Institute

On June 18, Eleanor M. Fox '61, Walter J. Derenberg Professor of Trade Regulation and a leading expert on antitrust and comparative competition law, was presented with the 10th annual Antitrust Achievement Award by the American Antitrust Institute (AAI), an independent, nonprofit think tank advocating the increased role of competition, at the organization’s annual conference, held at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.

AAI President Albert A. Foer called Fox “one of the most important figures in the field of international antitrust.” Among Fox's antitrust career highlights are her stint on President Jimmy Carter’s National Commission for the Review of Antitrust Laws and Procedures; her service as an advisor to not only Carter and President Bill Clinton, but also the European Union and countries as far-flung as Indonesia, Russia, and South Africa; and her selection as the first female vice chair of the American Bar Association's Antitrust Section. Past Antitrust Achievement Award winners include Senator Herb Kohl and former Senator Mike DeWine; former Federal Trade Commission Chairman Robert Pitofsky; Alfred E. Kahn, former inflation advisor to Carter; and New York City Department of Education Chancellor Joel Klein. Fox moderated a roundtable discussion, “Antitrust in a World Without a Center,” at the AAI event.

While in Washington, Fox also attended the fourth conference of the Academic Society for Competition Law, “More Common Ground for International Competition Law?” which took place at Georgetown University Law School on June 16 and 17. Fox chaired two discussions: “Institutional Hot Topics,” which included NGOs’ role in the development of competition law and developments in U.S. enforcement, and “International Antitrust,” which focused on extraterritorial application of competition law in Japan and regional agreements in the future of international antitrust. She also served as a commentator on “Abuse of Dominance and Monopolization.”

Posted on June 18, 2009