Spring 2018
Tax Policy and Public Finance Colloquium
Tuesday, 4:10-6:00 p.m., Vanderbilt Hall-208
Professor Daniel Shaviro and Professor Lily Batchelder


The Colloquium offers students the opportunity to pursue tax policy and theory, along with related issues of public economics, at an advanced level. The primary focus of the Colloquium will be papers and works in progress by scholars from around the country, including NYU faculty. Students attend the afternoon Colloquium and participate in its discussions. In addition, each week the morning seminar component examines the paper scheduled for presentation at the Colloquium, including background issues that may help in understanding it. Students must prepare a short comment paper in 5 of the 14 weeks focusing on the upcoming paper, make a short in-class presentation on one of the papers, and submit to the conveners of the Colloquium a proposed question for the author in each week (after Week 1) when they are not submitting a comment paper or making an oral presentation.

Daniel Shaviro
Wayne Perry Professor of Taxation
New York University
School of Law
40 Washington Square South
New York, NY 10012
Telephone: (212) 998-6187
Fax: (212) 995-4341

January 16
Greg Leiserson, Washington Center for Equitable Growth

January 23
Peter Dietsch, University of Montreal Philosophy Department

January 30
Andrew Hayashi, University of Virginia Law School

February 6
Gerald Auten, U.S. Treasury Department

February 13
Vanessa Williamson, Brookings Institution

February 27
Jacob Goldin, Stanford Law School

March 6
Lisa Philipps, Osgoode Hall Law School

March 20
Michelle Hanlon, MIT Sloan School of Management

March 27
Damon Jones, University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy

April 3
Ajay Mehrotra, American Bar Foundation and Northwestern University School of Law

April 10
Jason Furman, Harvard Kennedy School

April 17
Emily Satterthwaite, University of Toronto Law School

April 24
Wolfgang Schon, Max Planck Institute

May 1
Mitchell Kane, NYU Law School


Schedules from prior semesters:

2017 Schedule

2016 Schedule

2015 Schedule

2014 Schedule

2013 Schedule