Student Organizations

Sports Law Association

SLA Logo

NYU Law's Sports Law Association aims to be the premier student-run sports organization, conveniently located in New York City, the center of the legal world.

The Association looks to carry out its mission through a variety of events designed with the purpose of: (a) educating our members and the broader NYU community about sports law and its related disciplines; (b) developing relations with industry-leading institutions (including law firms, leagues, players’ associations, management groups, etc.) in order to connect our members with unique career opportunities unavailable through traditional on-campus recruitment; and (c) providing a forum in which the legal issues at the forefront of the profession can be passionately debated.  In addition, the Association welcomes members to submit ideas for events, fundraising, speakers, and to get involved through our 1L and LLM positions selected each fall.

In spring 2019 the Association hosted its 8th annual Sports Law Colloquium, once again bringing together law students, industry professionals, and revered academics from across the United States to examine the present state of the law and how it may change in the future.  Over the past few years we have hosted NBA Commissioner Adam Silver, MLS Commissioner Don Garber, NHL Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly, leading sports attorney Jeffrey Kessler, President of the NY Yankees Randy Levine, FOX reporter Ken Rosenthal, ESPN reporter Andrew Brandt, CLO of FanDuel Carolyn Renzin, and VP Deputy GC of MLB's Labor Department, Paul Mifsud, among many others. 

Twitter: @NYUSportsLaw


2023-24 Board: Caleb Paasche (Co-President), James Whitty (Co-President), Max Schneider (Vice President), Noah Mengisteab (Treasurer), Janeé Dennis (2L Representative), Lucas Humerick (Professional Chair)

2017-18 Board: Milagros "Millie" Villalobos Navas, Jennifer Yamin, David Saxman, Kirstie Yu, Malik Williams, Bruno Ghrairi, Ryan Fitzpatrick, Brette Trost, Jonathan Leb

2016-17 Board: Albert Tawil, Adam Lerner, Nathan Mooney, Lauren Wiseman, Timothy Cory, Milagros "Millie" Villalobos Navas

2015-16 Board: Matthew Edwards, Shad Estreich, Justin Gaudenzi, Lauren Wiseman, Albert Tawil, Robert Gianchetti, Christopher Porcelli, Nathan Mooney, Remo Andrea Decurtins

2014-15 Co-Chairs: Robert Gianchetti:; Matthew Edwards:


The content on student group pages is created by each group and does not constitute official statements or views of NYU Law.