Graduate Affairs for LLM and Exchange Students

Programs and Events for LLM and Exchange Students

The Office of Graduate Affairs is committed to building community and to providing stimulating programming for LLM and Exchange students through various events throughout the academic year.  The Office of Graduate Affairs events and programs include Global Receptions, the Global Leadership Skills Series, a Spring trip to Washington DC, and various social activities.

We encourage LLM and Exchange students regularly to check the Law School Calendar and The Docket for information on the myriad and diverse activities the Law School offers.  Events popular across the entire Law School community include Fall Ball, Feast for Finals, PILC Auction and the Dean's Cup. Students should also check the calendars for the Office of Career Services and the Public Interest Law Center for career-specific programming offered throughout the academic year.

Below are the events sponsored by the Office of Graduate Affairs for the 2013-2014 academic year.  Please note that these dates are subject to changes.

 

FALL 2014

Friday, August 29
2:00-3:50 p.m., Greenberg Lounge
LLM Lecture Series: Contracts, Prof. Clay Gillette

Friday, September 5
2:00-3:50 p.m., Lester Pollack Room
LLM Lecture Series: Civil Procedure, Prof. Arthur Miller

Monday, September 8                &            Thursday, September 11
12:25-1:50 p.m., FH 214                              2:25-3:50 p.m., FH 210
Outlining and Study Techniques (same presentation both days)

Friday, September 12
4:00-5:00 p.m., Amity Hall
Spouses & Partners' Happy Hour
 
Sunday, September 14
6:00-8:30 p.m., Chelsea Piers, Pier 61
Manhattan Harbor Sunset Cruise

Thursday, September 18
11:00 a.m., Washington Square Park
Students with kids - morning at the Park
 
Friday, September 19
2:00-3:50 p.m., Faculty Club
LLM Lecture Series: Torts, Prof. Jennifer Arlen
 
Monday, September 22
12:25-1:50 p.m., FH 214
US Culture Shock Series: Why do New Yorkers Seem Rude? Understanding Cultural Competence
 

Monday, September 29
12:25-1:50 p.m., FH 212
Networking - American Style

Monday, October 6
12:25-1:50 p.m., VH 216
US Culture Shock Series: All you wanted to know about the FBI and US army – from a lawyer’s perspective

Friday, October 10
3:00 p.m., MET
Metropolitan Museum of Art guided visit
 
October (various dates)
Global Receptions at the homes of various Faculty members
 
Monday, November 3
12:25-1:50 p.m., VH 202
US Culture Shock Series: US Sports and Holidays
 
Monday, November 10
12:25-1:50 p.m., FH 326
Academic Success: Are your Outlines Ready? Mid-Term Checkup
 
Friday, November 14
3:00 p.m., Bryant Park
Ice Skating

Monday, November 17
12:25-1:50 p.m., VH 204 (Prof. Irene Ayers), VH 210 (Prof. Mary Holland), VH 220 (Prof. Hon. Gerald Lebovits)
Academic Success: Exam Taking Strategies with Graduate Lawyering Faculty (review the Introduction to US Law Exam and learn valuable strategies)


SPRING 2015


Monday, February 2
12:25-1:50 p.m., FH 214
Global Leadership Skills series (installment #1): Becoming an Effective Leader - Emotional Intelligence for Lawyers, Part I
 
Monday, February 9
12:25-1:50 p.m., FH 214
Global Leadership Skills series (installment #2): Becoming an Effective Leader - Emotional Intelligence for Lawyers, Part II
 
Tuesday, February 17
12:25-1:50 p.m., FH 210
Global Leadership Skills Series (installment #3): Say What? Communicating Effectively as a Lawyer
 
Wednesday, February 18
6:00-8:00 p.m.
Lunar New Year Dinner
 
Monday, February 23
12:25-1:50 p.m., FH 210
Global Leadership Skills Series (installment #4): Leadership for Lawyers from a Non-Lawyer Perspective

April (dates to be announced)
Student-to-Alumni Program
Nets Basketball Game
OGA Farewell