The Hays Program has been fortunate in the quality and dedication of those who have served as its Secretaries and Assistants, including those at the Project on Social Welfare Law. Holders of this position since 1961, in chronological order, include Marie-Louis Windisch, Ruth Charos, Dede Fuchs Carson, Arlene Tolopko, Hariette Farin, Mary Lou Edwards, Margaret Daniello, Delia Colon, Dorothy Waleski, Maureen Johnson, Barbara Hart, Lisa Zimmerman Deutsch, Iris Ramer, Betty Kranzdorf Hernandez, Terry McGuire, Holly Thompson, LuAnn Rolley, and Evelyn Palmquist. Gail Thomas now holds the position. The Hays Program is also indebted to John Easterbrook who, while working as Assistant to Helen Hershkoff, has made many important contributions to the Program, including assistance in establishing and maintaining the Hays website. Ian Brydon, Professor Hershkoff's current assistant, is an indispensable member of the Hays community.

At the 35th anniversary reunion of the Hays Program, on October 16, 1993, a ceremony was held in the Arthur Garfield Hays seminar room at the Law School in memory of Dede Fuchs Carson, who made an outstanding contribution to the Program as its Secretary from 1963 to 1967. The Hays Fellows of that era and members of Dede’s family attended. A plaque in her honor was dedicated, which can now be viewed in the Arthur Garfield Hays seminar room, 330 Furman Hall.

At the 50th anniversary of the Hays Program in May 2008, a ceremony was held in recognition of the dedicated and valuable work of Evelyn Palmquist, who served the Program from 1990 to 2007.